The FA Carlsberg Referee Awards

Recognising & Rewarding Our Referees

The FA Carlsberg Referee Awards is a new national referee awards programme which was launched this season to recognise and reward the contributions referees, and those supporting referees, make to grassroots football.

The awards are for all referees, tutors, mentors and referee coaches, aged 18 or over working in the National Game.

Lancashire FA received more nominations than any other county, and although we didn’t have an overall national winner, the quality of nomination was extremely high. Our regional winners in the five categories are listed below:

  • Outstanding Contribution to Refereeing – Eamonn McNamara
  • Young Referee Award (18-25) – Ainsley Sawicz
  • Women’s Referee Award – Kat Davey
  • Outstanding contribution to refereeing in a development setting – Duncan Tighe
  • Outstanding Contribution from a Volunteer – Jim Bryson
  • National Special Award for Courage – Paul MacArtney

A Special Award was given to local referee Paul MacArtney who played a major part in saving the life of a young player badly injured in a game he was refereeing.

All the winners are due to receive certificates, FA prizes and tickets for the England v Scotland game taking place in Agust. The formal presentation of the Awards will be made at an event at Lancashire FA in August.

Many congratulations to all our winners.

Related News

View All