Referees Awards Evening Web 3

LFA Referees Awards Evening 2017

Buy tickets or sponsor an award

Friday 19th May 2017, 7pm
Preston Marriott Hotel (PR3 5JB)
Two-Course Meal with Fully Licensed Bar
Smart Casual Dress Code
£25 Tickets

Lancashire FA is delighted to announce the return of our Referees Awards Evening this May.

It has been a magnificent year for our referees on both the local and national circuits.

Following in the footsteps of the hugely successful inaugural event last year, we aim to highlights the fantastic achievements from our match officials.

The event will be heavily attended and we anticipate that tickets will sell quickly.

We are also thrilled to confirm that we have arranged for a star-studded panel of four Premier League match officials as our Guests of Honour.

Anthony Taylor, Martin Atkinson, Neil Swarbrick and Jonathan Moss will all be in attendance to present the awards and take part in an interactive Q&A session.

There will also be distinguished attendees from the Football Association and Professional Game Match Officials.

Throughout the evening, we will recognise and honour 10 of our match officials who have demonstrated and achieved excellence over the past year.

Each award, as well as the evening itself, is available for sponsorship.

The Referees Awards Evening will provide a great platform for our officials to relax, socialise and reflect over a successful year, so be sure to get involved and buy your ticket before it sells out!

Click here to purchase your ticket for the event

Deadline to buy tickets is Friday 5th May.


Nominations are now closed.

Bert Fogg – Senior Referee of the Year  This award is for referees at Level 4 or above who have demonstrated excellence in the season .
Bob Matthewson – Young Referee of the Year This award is for referees ages 24 and below who have demonstrated excellence in the season.
Fred Graham – Service to Grassroots Refereeing This award is for all referees regardless of level, age or gender. The referee must be active and have demonstrated excellence in the season.
Jack Clough – Volunteer of the Year This award is for volunteers such as tutors, coaches, mentors, observers, appointments officers etc. This should recognise someone who has contributed significantly to refereeing in the season.
Jack Howcroft – Society Volunteer of the Year This award is for volunteers within local referee societies. Those nominated should have contributed significantly to the development of their society.
Jack Kelly – Extra Mile Award  This award is for any referee or volunteer who has “gone beyond the call of duty” in the season. This should be something which has reflected positively on the game, refereeing or society in general.
John Lewis – Newcomer of the Year This award is for 1st year referees regardless of age or gender. The referee must have settled well into refereeing and be active.
Ken Dagnall – Academy Referee of the Year This award is for a referee within the referee development group. Nominations for this category will be made by the academy staff and coaches.
Natalie Walker – Female Referee of the Year This award is for an active female referee who has demonstrated excellence in the season.
WF Brunell – Lifetime Achievement Award This award is for someone who has contributed significantly to refereeing in Lancashire and/or nationally over a prolonged period of time. They can be active or retired.


We are still seeking sponsorship for the following:

  • Volunteer of the Year award
  • Lifetime Achievement award
  • Newcomer of the Year award
  • Headline Sponsor - sponsor the whole evening

Please contact Lewis Smith on 01772 624000 or via if you are interested.

Click here to download details of our sponsorships packages

Related News

View All