A volunteer sorts out a goal net

Winners of 2018 FA Grassroots Awards Announced

Lancashire FA have selected the winners of the prestigious awards

Lancashire FA has selected ten local recipients of The FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards 2018. 

The Grassroots Football Awards, known previously as The FA and McDonalds Community Awards, recognise and celebrate the work of individuals and groups to instill The FA’s PRIDE values – Progressive, Respectful, Inclusive, Determination and Excellent – and make a positive difference in their club, league or local community. 

Following receipt of a record 2,904 nominations, The FA has worked alongside respective County FAs to select appropriate winners across 10 categories. The full list of Lancashire FA Grassroots Football Awards 2018 winners are: 

Coach of the year: Faisal Member 
Community project of the year: Skelmersdale Athletic  
Charter Standard club of the year: Sir Tom Finney Preston Soccer Centre and Football Club
Charter Standard league of the year: Central Lancashire Junior Football League
Grounds team of the year: Mark Bolton, Brinscall Village
Match Official of the year: Dave Boston
The Respect Award: Chris Morton, Fleetwood Town Juniors
Supporter of the year: No nomination
Volunteer of the year: Darryl Cartwright
Youth volunteer of the year: Georgia Hinde

Greg Clarke, Chairman of The FA, said: "It’s been fantastic to see a record number of nominations for this year’s Grassroots Football Awards and hear so many stories of dedication and commitment throughout the grassroots game." 

"The selection of winners chosen alongside Lancashire FA represents the diverse nature of football in this country and I would like to congratulate each and every one for their inspirational work."

To learn more about The FA and McDonald’s Grassroots Football Awards 2018, visit TheFA.com.

Click here.