Amateur Cup 2019

Elton Vale 2-0 Leigh Foundry

2019 Amateur Cup Final, sponsored by Bluefin Sports Insurance

Elton Vale were crowned 2019 Bluefin Sports Insurance Amateur Cup champions following a 2-0 win over Leigh Foundry at the County Ground.

Goals from Lee Bruce and Lewis Benson either side of half-time ensured the trophy was Elton’s, who in truth were deserving of their victory.

Tyler Roscoe was the unsung hero of the night for Elton Vale, testing the opposition goalkeeper, Chris Warburton, with several efforts in the opening 45 minutes. The number ten was put clean through on goal on 20 minutes, following a fantastic pass, but for Warburton’s expert goalkeeping to keep it out.

Ten minutes later and Elton broke the deadlock. Tyler Roscoe was put through on goal again, and with him and Lee Bruce clean through, Roscoe squared the ball to Bruce who fired into an empty net.

Half time came and Elton Vale were in control, despite a couple of half chances for Leigh Foundry.

Just three minutes into the second half, Bruce should have made it 2-0. Jack Lawder did so well down the right hand side to get to the byline and feed in an exceptional ball to the unmarked Bruce, but the number eight couldn’t sort his feet out and the ball when straight under him before he could connect.

It was ultimately a miss which didn’t matter, however, as Lewis Benson doubled Elton Vale’s lead with just ten minutes left. Tyler Roscoe fed another great ball in from the flank and there was Benson to scuff his effort beyond the goalkeeper and secure the prestigious Amateur Cup trophy.

Elton Vale: J McBriar, J Lawder, S Carey, D Slaven, R Wilkes, D McMahon, S Oko, L Bruce, A Plimley, T Roscoe, L Mulhall

Subs: L Benson, L Fearnley, J Stephenson, J Davidson, R McDonald

Leigh Foundry: C Warburton, R Sanders, M Mather, S Heapy, J Burton, M Rabbitt, J Pilkington, Z Sutton, T Rabbitt, J Hardman, D Bretherton

Subs: L Fiendley, K Saunders, D Hayes, J Prescott, D France

Referee: Kavan Hurn

Assistant Referees: Joseph Hind & Harrison Hodges

Fourth Official: Joseph Wareham