Football's Volunteers Honoured in "Greatest Show"

The great and good of football in Lancashire were honoured on Saturday evening, with a glamourous ceremony put on by the Lancashire FA.

The inaugural Lancashire FA Football Awards took place on Saturday evening at the Premier Suite in Bolton Whites Hotel, with close to 400 people in attendance. 16 separate awards were handed out to deserving winners, ranging from Coach of the Year and League of the Year to Contribution to Futsal of the Year and the Rising Star of the Year.

The Voice of Old Trafford and FIFA 19 games, Alan Keegan, hosted proceedings with intervals throughout including magicians, a Greatest Showman spectacle and live music from Touch the Pearl.

Reflecting on the Awards dinner, Lancashire FA’s CEO, Simon Gerrard said: “I’m thrilled Saturday evening has been so well received.”

“Following a project board meeting at the start of the year, we felt it was vital we recognised and thanked the hundreds of volunteers of football across the county for all of their dedication and commitment to grassroots football. Ultimately, without them football would not be such an amazing and unique entity within our society in Lancashire, so we felt this was the perfect opportunity to thank them all for their services to the National Game.”

“It was a fantastic evening, and something which will live long in the memory here at Lancashire FA. We envisage this to be the first of an annual awards celebration, as we look to build on the fantastic work that went into Saturday night.”

A full list of the award winners is below:

•           Grassroots Coach of the Year - Kate O’Neill from Myerscough Juniors

•           Grassroots Supporter of the Year - Heather Tadman from Freestyle Urban Soccer

•           Grounds team of the Year - Cadley FC

•           Rising Star of the Year - Holly Wilson from PNE (Womens) Juniors and Cadley FC

•           Club of the Year -  Lostock Hall JFC

•           The Respect Award - Brinscall Village Girls U7

•           Volunteer of the Year - James Galt from North West Disability Football Hub

•           League of the Year - Mid Lancashire Colts Junior Football League

•           Project of the Year - Social Inclusion Football League

•           Match Official – Oliver Reynolds

•           Male Official - Leigh Doughty

•           Female Official - Abby Dearden

•           Young Male Official - Joe Ashton

•           Young Female Official - Ellie Mayor

•           Futsal Contribution – Mick Horsfall from Fylde Coast Futsal Club

•           Inclusion Award – AFC Masters

Gallery of the evening