The FA Coach Mentor Programme

FA Coach Mentor Programme

Offering on-the-ground support

This programme represents a major investment in the grassroots game and offers on-the-ground support to FA Charter Standard Clubs, leagues and target groups.

The FA sees the development of coaches as central to the development of the game, and working collaboratively accelerates learning and supports coaches’ development.

Mentoring support at a club could include:

  • Developing a whole club philosophy
  • Group coaching demonstrations
  • 1:1 coaching, match-day observation and support
  • Signposting to relevant courses and events
  • Needs analysis for individual coaches
  • Modelling of coaching sessions for individual coaches
  • Individual feedback
  • An individual learning programme
In 2015/16 the FA Coach Mentor Programme supported 9,383 coaches and 615 clubs.

Get In Touch

John Treacy

League Development Officer

Area contact for: All Leagues across the County

01772 624000

john.treacy@lancashirefa.com

Mike Nadal

Football Development Officer

Area contact for: Wigan, South Ribble, West Lancashire, Chorley, St Helens, Sefton

01772 644279

michael.nadal@lancashirefa.com

Nick Birchall

Football Development Officer (Education)

Area contact for: Preston,Blackpool, Blackburn, Fylde, Wyre

01772 282757

nick.birchall@lancashirefa.com

Iain Mackie

Football Development Officer

Area contact for: Bury, Rochdale. Bolton, Greater Manchester, Warrington, Oldham, Rossendale

01772 282761

iain.mackie@lancashirefa.com

Andrew Whitaker

Football Development Officer (Disability)

Area contact for: Burnley, Hyndburn, Ribble Valley and Pendle

01772 644263

andrew.whitaker@lancashirefa.com

Tony Callister

Football Development Officer

Area contact for: Barrow, South Lakes, Lancaster and Morecambe

01772 624000

tony.callister@lancashirefa.com

FA Coach Mentor

Find out how mentors can improve your coaching skills, and the benefits of becoming one yourself

FA Coach Mentor Programme Video
FAQs

No. The FA Coach Mentor programme is a free FA initiative where a Coach Mentor can offer up to 100 hours of support per season.

Clubs that are keen to develop a positive coaching ethos, philosophy and develop their own in-house mentoring/coach support system.

Coaches can utilise this opportunity to start a legacy of positive coaching within their own clubs.

The FA Coach Mentor Programme is also committed to providing 5000 hours per season specifically to work with BAME, female and disabled coaches across the country.

If you are a BAME coach or working with BAME coaches/players and would like some support from one of our Coach Mentors, please contact Steve Smithies with your name, club name, age group and the County FA that you are affiliated to – steve.smithies@thefa.com.

If you are a female coach or working with female coaches/players and would like some support from one of our Coach Mentors, please contact Samantha Griffiths with your name, club name, age group and the County FA that you are affiliated to – samantha.griffiths@thefa.com.

If you are a coach with a disability and would like some support from one of our Coach Mentors, please contact Kevin England with your name, club name, age group and the County FA that you are affiliated to kevin.england@thefa.com.

If you are interested in becoming an FA Coach Mentor please check our website for vacancies. If no vacancies are available contact the Regional Coach Mentor Officer in your region who can provide an update of the programme in and around your area.

Please note that there two application periods throughout the season - June and December.

Pre-requisites to become an FA Coach Mentor are:

  • Minimum FA Level 2 in Coaching Football
  • Member of The FA Licensed Coaches Club
  • Valid FA Criminal Record Check

North West – Steve Smithies – steve.smithies@thefa.com

North East – Graeme Carrick – graeme.carrick@thefa.com

East Midlands – Samantha Griffiths – samantha.griffiths@thefa.com

West Midlands – Andy Somers – andy.somers@thefa.com

East – Darren Moss – darren.moss@thefa.com

South East – Kevin England – kevin.england@thefa.com

London/ Armed Forces/ Jersey/ Guernsey – Kevin Green – kevin.green@thefa.com

South West – Ciara Allan – ciara.allan@thefa.com

Get In Touch

Tor receive support from The FA Coach Mentor programme, please contact:

Steve Smithies
North West Regional Coach Mentor
steve.smithies@thefa.com

When making initial contact please include your name, club name, number of teams and County FA affiliated to.

Related Articles

View All