Partners Foundation logo

Challenge Trophy

Proudly Sponsored By Partners Foundation

Chorley win Challenge Trophy
2017/18 Winners: Chorley FC


The Challenge Trophy was first competed for in 1885/86, shortly after the legalisation of professionalism in football in July 1885.
The first winners of the Trophy were Accrington-based side Bell's Temperence, who beat Darwen Rovers 6-2 in the final.
The Trophy was initially known as the Lancashire Junior Cup, and was established because the rapid growth in football in Lancashire during the late 1870s and early 1880s led to an increase in entries to the Lancashire Senior Cup.
As there was a huge gulf between the more established clubs and the newer clubs, the newer clubs were instead entered into the Junior Cup.
The name of the competition was changed permanently to the Lancashire Challenge Trophy in 1984/85.
Chorley are the most successful side in the competition having lifted the Trophy 18 times.
Morecambe and Wigan Athletic have both won the Trophy 11 times, but no longer compete.
Elsewhere, Southport have won the Trophy eight times, Lancaster City six times, Skelmersdale United four times and AFC Fylde three times.
Last season, Chorley won the Trophy yet again, beating Clitheroe 3-2 in the final.
The cup is competed for by teams playing between Step 3 and Step 6 (inclusive) in the football pyramid across Lancashire.

Round Dates

Round Date
Final 23/04/18 Result
Semi-Final 21/02/18 to 28/03/18 Results
Quarter-Final 05/12/17 to 06/12/17 Results
2nd Round 06/11/17 to 16/11/17 Results
1st Round to 10/10/17 Results
Partners Foundation Challenge Trophy


Chorley 3-2 Clitheroe

Chorley win Challenge Trophy

Related Match Reports

View All