Lancashire FA Challenge Trophy

2018/19 Winners: Southport FC


The Challenge Trophy was first competed for in 1885/86, shortly after the legalisation of professionalism in football in July 1885.
The first winners of the Trophy were Accrington-based side Bell's Temperence, who beat Darwen Rovers 6-2 in the final.
The Trophy was initially known as the Lancashire Junior Cup, and was established because the rapid growth in football in Lancashire during the late 1870s and early 1880s led to an increase in entries to the Lancashire Senior Cup.
As there was a huge gulf between the more established clubs and the newer clubs, the newer clubs were instead entered into the Junior Cup.
The name of the competition was changed permanently to the Lancashire Challenge Trophy in 1984/85.
Chorley are the most successful side in the competition having lifted the Trophy 18 times.
Morecambe and Wigan Athletic have both won the Trophy 11 times, but no longer compete.
Elsewhere, the current holders Southport have won the Trophy nine times, Lancaster City six times, Skelmersdale United four times and AFC Fylde three times.
The cup is competed for by teams playing between Step 3 and Step 6 (inclusive) in the football pyramid across Lancashire.

2022/23 Winners - Southport FC

Round Dates

Round Date
1st Round TBC to 19/10/21 Results
2nd Round 16/11/21 to 23/11/21 Results
Quarter-Final 14/12/21 to 11/01/22 Results
Semi-Final 09/03/22 to 16/03/22 Results
Final 27/04/22 Result
Partners Foundation Challenge Trophy


Colne FC 1-3 Southport FC


Related Match Reports

View All